Skip to content
Langsdale Library

Reference

Reference offers numerous services to students, faculty, and staff including general reference (via phone, chat and email as well as in person). Instruction librarians teach information literacy in credit course and as guest lecturers in other courses. Reference librarians design a variety of print, online and video-based instructional materials for course-related research.

  • more on Reference services 

    Research Assistance to provide patrons with the information and skills to meet class and research needs.

    Library Instruction for classes and groups in accessing and using research tools and skills. For more information, visit our library instruction page.

    Book and Journal Purchasing options.  Within budgetary constraints the library will consider requests for books or journals for class use and research needs. We have established a liaison program with faculty to consider such requests. Please contact individual assigned to your department, or if you are unsure whom to contact, call Jeffrey Hutson, Associate Director for Public Services at 410-837-4298 or email jhutson@ubalt.edu.

    Customized library instruction sessions to introduce classes to relevant Library resources and services.  For more information on reference services call (410) 837-4274, e-mail langref@ubalt.edu, or visit our library instruction page.

     

    Our goal is to ensure that patrons have available the necessary resources to conduct research and class assignments and have the necessary training to become independent learners and researchers.

Michael Shochet

 
Michael Shochet
 Head of Reference
 Reference, Public Services
 mshochet@ubalt.edu
 410-837-4277
Office: 326

General Contact Information  
Reference Desk langref@ubalt.edu | 410-837-4274
Name Office Email Phone
Natalie Burclaff
 Reference / Instruction Librarian
 Reference, Public Services
323 nburclaff@ubalt.edu 410-837-5072
Catherine Johnson
 Head of Information Literacy Initiatives
 Reference, Public Services
324 cajohnson@ubalt.edu 410-837-4276
Mike Kiel
 Reference / Instruction Librarian
 Reference, Public Services
323 A skiel@ubalt.edu 410-837-4236
Peter Ramsey
 Reference / Instruction Librarian
 Reference, Public Services
325 pramsey@ubalt.edu 410-837-4275